Home | Headlines | The UAE Tetrathlon

The UAE Tetrathlon

Sheikh Maktoum bin jum al Maktoum tetrathlon

the UAE Tetrathlon held under the patronage of HH Sheikh Maktoum bin Juma Al Maktoum

It was recently announced that Desert Palm will be holding the first UAE Tetrathlon on 15 & 16 October 2015 but what is a Tetrathlon?

A tetrathlon, from the numerical prefix “tetra”meaning four, will be an event consisting of 4 phases. The 4 disciplines are:

  1. Swimming -Competitors will aim to swim in a fast time over a set distance.
  2. Running – Competitiors will aim to run over a distance of a minimum 400m
  3. Shooting – Each competitor has their own target and lane and has at least 1 round of ring; the aim is to achieve 5 green lights in the minimum time possible. After 50 Seconds you must move on and continue with the run.
  4. Riding – Competitor must ride a course of 12 obstacles

For details on each phase of the event please read the UAE Tetrathlon Brochure 2015.  The inaugural tetrathlon on the 15 & 16 October will only be for individual competitors but the subsequent events will have a relay section included for teams.

The event, which is held over 2 days, is under the patronage of Sheikh Maktoum bin Juma al Maktoum.  The tetrathlon is run in collaboration with the Dubai Sports Council and with the approval of UIPM, Union Internation de Pentathlon Moderne.  For UAE based events the rules have been changed with UIPM’s approval to facilitate cultural sensitivities.


Subscribe To The Horse UAE Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates from our team.

You have Successfully Subscribed!

About HorseUAE

HorseUAE Staff Writer